Overview of The Fundamentals of Florida Auto Insurance
Florida is a no-fault car accident state. No-fault insurance pays some of your medical bills, lost wages and property damage. No-fault insurance pays the insured – regardless of who caused the accident. Liability insurance pays the victim of the accident only if the insured caused the accident. Liability insurance covers pain and suffering and bills that weren’t paid by the victim’s own no-fault policy.
The Florida minimum insurance requirements
Drivers who fail to have the minimum amounts can lose their license. They can also be subject to civil and criminal penalties. If you cancel your policy, your insurance carrier notifies the state. DHSMV. The fundamental Florida auto insurance requirements include the following minimums:
- PIP (Personal Injury Protection) benefits. $10,000. PIP pays medical bills and lost wages. It also can pay for the help you need to daily chores. The following people can claim PIP insurance on your policy:
- Members of your household
- Passengers who don’t own a car and don’t have their own PIP insurance
PIP also covers your children if they are involved in a school bus accident
- PDL (Property Damage Liability) insurance. Florida car owners must have $10,000 in PDL insurance. This is fault-insurance. It pays for any property damage you cause to another car or to someone else’s property.
All car owners should consider buying the following types of car insurance:
Other fundamental car insurance basics are:
- Buy as much as you can afford, not just the minimum $10,000. You get this amount whether you caused the accident or someone else did. You will need to verify your medical bills and lost wages. PIP does not pay for pain and suffering. PIP only pays 80% of your medical expenses. It only pays 60% of your lost wages. You can only get up to the policy limits. To get paid more than $2,500 the car accident victim must show he/she has an emergency medical condition (EMC). PIP also covers death benefits but only up to $5,000.
- This is another type of no-fault insurance. It covers the 20% over and above the 80% that PIP pays.
- Buy more than $10,000. New cars are quite expensive. They can cost $30,000, $50,000 or even more. If you hit a truck or a house, the damages can be quite high. You should buy as much as you can reasonably afford.
- Comprehensive insurance. This insurance coverage pays for non-accident related damage to your car. Non-accidental damage includes fire, theft, and vandalism.
- This pays for car-accident damage to your car. Remember, PDL insurance pays for the damage other car owners suffer – not the damage to your vehicle. Collision insurance pays for the damage to fix or replace your car – regardless of fault.
Additional coverage covers using a rental car while yours is being fixed or until you can buy a replacement. There’s even insurance to pay for the cost of towing your car to a repair shop.